Projects (AEN 4.1.0)

Everything in Anaconda Enterprise Notebooks begins by creating or opening a project. After that you can set up a special environment with the packages you want, add team members and set their access permissions. You can also modify your project settings.

To begin, log onto your AEN account. This brings you to your user profile page. Now you are ready to open an existing project or create a new project.

Create new project

To create a new project, click on the new project icon on the right hand side of the upper Anaconda Enterprise Notebooks task bar:

image0

Or on your profile page, you can click the New project button:

image1

This brings you to the project page where you can name your project, select whether it will be public or private, and include a summary of your project:

image2

TIP: You can update the summary and description any time from your Project settings’ Project menu as described below.

After you have filled in the new project form, click the Next button at the bottom right.

This opens your new project’s home page or project dashboard:

image3

Use the Project Settings icon at the top right of the project page to modify the summary or add a description of the project.

A project description is recommended, and may optionally be written in Markdown syntax (plain text valid Markdown). Click the Preview tab in the description area to see how the Markdown will appear.

TIP: You can add or update your project’s summary and description any time from the Project Settings Project menu described below.

Add team members

Now you may add team members to your new project if you wish. Adding team members to your projects makes collaboration easy in Anaconda Enterprise Notebooks. Team members have full access to the project applications, files and services. When you add a team member, their home directory is mounted in the project. There is no need to download and email data or scripts – your team member can work on the same files in the same environment in which you are working.

To add new team members to your project, in the Team box start typing the first few letters of their username. The type-ahead feature displays all team members with that spelling so you can quickly add team members.

TIP: You can add or remove team members any time from the Project Settings Team menu described below. You can also modify their read, write or execute permissions any time from the Workbench app.

Project drive and directory

Each project has a project drive attached that all team members can access. The size of the project drive is not limited by Anaconda Enterprise Notebooks. Please contact your system administrator if you find you do not have sufficent space.

Each project also has a separate project directory on the project drive. The project directory is a separate directory from the owner’s and team members’ home directories, for project files and data so team members can share and have equal access.

NOTE: The path to your project directory is /projects/<project_owner>/<project_name>

Project settings menu

Access your project settings from the Project page, the Project Settings 3-gear icon at the top right:

image4

Here you will find settings for the Project, Team, Admin and Info.

Project settings

Status. The project settings Status box allows you to toggle between manually starting and stopping your project. Stopping a project stops all the apps launched for that project. Projects do use resources such as memory and compute cycles when running, so it is best to stop projects when they are not in use.

Project. In the Project box you can update your project’s summary and description.

Description. In the Description box you can use plain text or markdown syntax. Click the Preview tab to see how the markdown description looks. Click the Submit button at the bottom left to save your changes:

image5

Team settings

From the project settings Team menu, you may easily add or remove team members who have access to this project. Simply type in a few letters of the username you would like to include, then select them from the usernames that appear. To add them, click the ‘Add’ button. Repeat for each team member you wish to add to this project.

image6

Removing team members is just as easy as adding them. Click the red ‘Remove’ link next to the name of the user you would like to remove.

Admin settings

From the project settings Admin menu, you may make this project private or public.

You may also reclaim ownership of a project. Ownership of all files and folders created by the team members on this project will be transferred to you. Project files and folders are copied and renamed.

TIP: Be sure you have stopped the project from the Project Settings menu so team members cannot make changes while you are changing ownership.

Delete this project deletes all project files and information about it. There is no “undo” option. Be sure you have downloaded a copy of all files that you may want to save.

Move this project to a new compute node if you have multiple resources available and want to move them to the other resource. The project must exist on both compute nodes. Make sure that this is done before you move.

image7

Info settings

The info settings menu provides details about your project. See whether it is currently running or stopped, when it was created, when it was last accessed, and data center in which it is running.

image8

Tag a project

Add or Remove Tags

Tags are a way to group similar or related projects, to identify a project so that it is easier to find at a later date, or as a way to let others know about a project.

You can create and remove tags on any project that you have access to.

To add a new tag, go to the project’s main page. In the “Tags” box on the right of the page enter the name of the tag you wish to add and click the “Add” button. The new tag will be added and show up in the “Tags” list.

To remove a tag from a project, click on the “x” next to the tag’s name:

image15

If the tag was not already visible from your main home page in the “Tag” list it will be added. If the tag already was showing because another project had the tag, then the number next to the tag name will be incremented:

image17

List tagged projects

Just click on a tag name and a list of projects with that tag will be shown. Example, here we click the tag “science”:

image18

The results list shows both public projects and private projects that you can access.

image19

Clicking on a project in the tagged list will take you to that project’s home page.

Star a project

When you star a project, it makes it more likely that the project will appear in the Top Rated project list on the Dashboard home page.

To star a project, just click the star icon at the upper right on the project page. To unstar a project, just click the star again.

TIP: Adding or removing stars on a project does not affect anyone else’s stars that they may have added.

image20

The number next to the project in the Top Rated list is the number of stars that have been given to that project. Clicking on a project in the list will take you to a view of that project’s home page.

image21

Recommendations

The recommendation engine leverages the search functionality to locate similar files and projects. In determining what should be listed in Related Projects, the recommendation engine scans the files in the project. The terms found in those documents are weighted to determine which ones are to be used for the “likeness” search. A search is then performed, with extra weighting given to the uses and imports keywords. The engine finds the files and the projects that are most similar to the current project’s files. The results are scored and the top scoring matches are displayed for public projects and those private projects to which you have access. The recommendation is based on how similar the files are between the projects.

Collaborators

A project’s home page has a section that lists your top collaborators. This list is composed of those collaborators who share the most projects in common with you.

If you click on one of the collaborator’s names, you will be taken to a view of their home page where you can see all public projects and private projects they have shared with you.

image23