Team Collaboration (AEN 4.1.1)

Project Collaboration

Teams collaborate in Anaconda Enterprise Notebooks via Projects. Projects allow a team to easily come together with the resources, apps, and environments they need to collaborate effectively.

The project owner and team members of a Anaconda Enterprise Notebooks project all have access to:

  • Shared files and home directories
  • Shared Python and R environments
  • Shared nodes and hardware
  • Common apps and
  • Web User Interface

Social

Team Members, Top Collaborators, Top Tags, Top Rated Projects and Related Projects

Each project home page includes a list of the top collaborators on a project, its top tags and other top rated projects. You can also see a list of all the team members who have access to a project and view profiles of each team member and their projects.

If there is a similar project, on the project home page you will see a list of the related projects that use code libraries and functions similar to the ones used in the current project.

TIP: You will only see projects that you have permission to access, either public projects or private projects on which you are listed as a team member.

Access control

Team members within a project have read-and-write access to all project assets by default.

You can choose to extend execute access to a team member, or limit access to specific folders and files to members of the project team. You can also add new team members and add or remove access.

Controlling access is done from each project’s Workbench application.

After logging on, from your user home page, select the project you want to manage and click the Workbench icon.

After the Workbench application opens, navigate to the file or folder to which you wish to limit access and right-click. From the drop-down menu that appears, select “Permissions”. You’ll see a list of owners and team members who have access:

image0

Find the team member for whom you wish to change access. You can also add a member and set their access at the same time by clicking the “Add” button.

After each team member’s name, check or uncheck the permissions you wish to allow. The available permissions are Read, Write, and Execute.

TIP: If you remove all permissions an individual or group will not be able to access the file.

After making the changes you want, click the “Submit” button.

image1

NOTE: If the team member is in the Workbench application while you give them access, they may need to refresh their browser window to see their newly-granted access.

Access for non-team members

It is possible to grant access to a file or folder with someone who is not part of the project team, as long as that person has an account.

Sharing with individuals outside the team is a four step process performed from the Workbench application.

  1. Copy or move the file to your home directory.
  2. Give user Read & Execute access to your home directory.
  3. Add the user to the file’s permissions.
  4. Have user add directory to their workbench.

1. Copy or move the file to your home directory

You can find your home directory in the Workbench by looking at the file tree. Your home folder is at the bottom with your username. To protect the other files in your home directory, we recommend that you make a sub-folder with the name of the person you wish to grant access, then move or copy the file to this folder.

2. Grant access to the file

Right-click on the name of the folder to which you wish to grant access, and from the drop-down menu that appears select Permissions. Add the username of the team member who needs access. You must select Read and Execute access for them to see the files but not edit the files.

Tip: If you grant access to the folder rather than a specific file, you only have to set these permissions the first time you share the folder with this specific user, or whenever you wish to change the permissions.

3. Add the user to the files permissions

You need to add the user to the files permissions using the steps found above in the Access control section. Once you do this the user will, depending on the access you grant, be able to see, read, change, and execute the file. If you add permissions to a folder the user will be able to see and access the folder.

4. Have the user add directory to their workbench

The user can now add your home directory to their workbench file browser. To do this have the user click on the show directory button at the top of the file tree in the workbench.

image6

In the window that pops up the user should add the string /home/yourusername in the text box and the Add button.

image7

After clicking add the added folder will appear below the text field. The user can now close the window by clicking on the “x” in the upper right or by clicking outside the window.

image8

Once the user refreshes the workbench using the refresh button, they will see the shared file.

image10